Product detail

Horrorstor

Horrorstor

Author: Grady Hendrix
$29.99(AUD)  inc GST
Available Stock: 0
Description

Something strange is happening at the Orsk furniture superstore in Cleveland, Ohio. Every morning, employees arrive to find broken Kjerring wardrobes, shattered Brooka glassware, and vandalized Liripip sofa beds-clearly, someone or something is up to no good. To unravel the mystery, five young employees volunteer for a long dusk-till-dawn shift-and they encounter horrors that defy imagination. Along the way, author Grady Hendrix infuses sly social commentary on the nature of work in the new twenty-first century economy.

A traditional haunted house story in a contemporary setting (and full of current fears), Horrorstorcomes conveniently packaged in the form of a retail catalog, complete with illustrations of ready-to-assemble furniture and other, more sinister accessories. We promise you've never seen anything quite like it!

Reviews

..".Hendrix is an engaging writer..."--"Santa Fe New Mexican" ""Horrorstor "delivers a crisp terror-tale...[and] Hendrix strikes a nice balance between comedy and horror."--"Washington Post" ..".the book's packaging as a catalog--complete with illustrations of increasingly sinister-looking furniture with faux Scandinavian names--gives it a charmingly oddball allure."--"Publishers Weekly" ..".Hendrix conjures up some wonderfully gruesome imagery..."--"Nerdist"" " "If you've ever been frustrated trying to put together furniture from IKEA, you'll get a laugh out of Hendrix's spoof mystery."--"New York Post"" " ..".disarming...""--Wall Street Journal"" " ".".."wildly fun and outrageously inventive...""--Shelf Awareness for Readers," starred review "A fun horror novel....Enjoyable....There is a fair amount of workplace humor, but the book...will deliver enough scares for horror fans as well."--"Library Journal" "A very clever ghost story....the story is entertaining and the book itself is laid out like an Orsk catalog"--"Booklist" ..".a clever little horror story...the book starts as a Palahniuk-tinged satire about the things we own...turning the psychological manipulations and scripted experiences that are inherent to the retail experience into a sinister fight for survival. A treat for fans of The Evil Dead or Zombieland, complete with affordable solutions for better living."--"Kirkus Reviews"

Author description

Grady Hendrix is a writer, journalist, and one of the founders of the New York Asian Film Festival. A former film critic for the New York Sun, Grady has written for Slate, The Village Voice, Time Out New York, Playboy Magazine and Variety.

Stock Information

General Fields

  • : 9781594745263
  • : Quirk Books
  • : Quirk Books
  • : September 2014
  • : 222mm X 191mm
  • : United States
  • : October 2014
  • : books

Special Fields

  • : Paperback
  • : English
  • : 813/.6
  • : 240
  • : illustrations
  • : Grady Hendrix